Image for OPINION: A critical reflection on the Mercure backlash

OPINION: A critical reflectionon the Mercure backlash

Rainbow social media has been a maelstrom the last few days since Pauline Pantsdown broke the news last Thursday evening of the Australian Christian Lobby’s super top-secret conference scheduled at Mercure Sydney International Airport.


ACL are not a huge fan of Reds, either.

By mid-morning Friday, Mercure had deactivated the airport hotel’s Facebook page after around 160 people had left one-star reviews. The full details of the whirlwind of a story can be found here.

Most of what I have seen on social media has been supportive of the backlash against Mercure for hosting the meeting, but some people have concerns: Is this kind of clap-back populism gone mad?

Being the confused jumble of realist/ideologist/pragmatist that I am, I too had some internal conflict on this question. For a bit.

The more practical side of me sees a business point of view: When I worked in hospitality, I took bookings all the time and rarely if ever gave any thought or discretion to affiliations or content of the group or conference. So I get it, a manager has merely accepted another booking. But I still struggle to think that who the ACL are—basically the Westborough Baptists of Australia—never crossed their mind.

Then this:

‘The ACL have advised their event will no longer be held at Mercure Sydney Airport due to safety and security concerns for guests and staff.’

What was that? Safety for rainbow children against the violence of the ACL? Nope. As a hard-working communicator, I do not find their response compelling. I find it self-preserving.

A lot of marketing and social media folks in the corporate world still see backlash from our community as noise and nuisance rather than a wake-up call to justice (see ‘deactivate Facebook account’, see ‘issue non-apology’). Their behaviour doesn’t help dispel accusations of pink-washing; it reinforces the thought that corporations aren’t responsible enough to have a voice on public issues.

Corporations have been working for a decade or two to get some skin in the diversity game. They co-brand with Mardi Gras, put up rainbow flags, celebrate their minority people, and make a little money at the same time. A lot of these initiatives are actually LGBTIQ employee-driven—not by boards or marketing teams—so there is to a large extent a sincerity and measure of authenticity in what they do. But the real test is when supporting minorities costs them money, something only a rare few do (see LinkedIn, Paypal, Allstate, Salesforce). When the others respond with a dismissive ‘no comment’, we know that they’re not really listening to us.

But let’s be real here: our straight allies and colleagues make up the 90%; we unfortunately can’t always expect them to know what matters to us without us telling them. Take one or two steps back from the queer community and the issues that matter to us can quickly disappear from public sight.

If only around 10% of our population are LGBTIQ-identifying, mustn’t our voices be tens of times louder to even be heard? This is why minorities historically require allies in their struggles for equality. This is why we’re loud with rage and rally in all our different and appropriate ways: some with emotion, some with calm. Some angry, some sad, some with screaming, others with writing and art.

What I want is for marketers, social managers, and corporations to see members of our community as valued ‘go-tos’ on social and ethical issues. And I will fight, push, ask, knock, and advocate all the way for this everywhere, as I do in my own workplace. And I ask you to do the same.

Had Mercure invested real interest in our community, here is what their statement might have been:

‘Our management has reviewed the content of the conference and agree that it is not in line with the values of our group. After further discussion with the ACL and their concerns, and taking the safety of our guests, staff, and community into consideration, we have mutually agreed for the booking to be cancelled.’

As for the ACL:

It’s one thing to be religious; it’s another to hold extremist draconian views.

It’s one thing to have an opinion; it’s another to indict someone’s existence.

Hell, it’s even one thing to meet and discuss and struggle with a theological approach to LGBTIQ people; and another to actively vilify and make others’ lives less safe.

The ACL has proven itself to be a hate group and should be treated as such. It should struggle to rally itself on social media. It should crawl to a halt as its voice is drowned out. It should find no ‘safe places’ to host its Hate Mass.

*Shaun Caleb* (he/him) works in corporate diversity while writing and curating thoughts about belonging, advocacy, and coffee. He recently resurrected his twitter: @RealShaunCaleb

Main image: Mercure staff at the 2016 Melbourne Pride, via Mercure’s Melbourne blog

Comments

www.samesame.com.au arrow left
45471
MrAsh

MrAsh said on the 19th Sep, 2016

Referring to people of diverse sexualities and genders (DSG) as 'rainbow people' 'rainbow children' or anything 'rainbow' is patronising.

DSG people are diverse individuals, with differing viewpoints, beliefs and narratives and one of the problems with diversity programs is the lack of perspective and respect for people as individuals and the lumping of people as stereotypes.

Shaun Caleb

Shaun Caleb said on the 19th Sep, 2016

Hi Mr Ash -- I intentionally used 'rainbow people' because of Safe Schools use of the term. It's a specific reaction against the ACL's hate speech.

The same criticism is made against DSG as you've made against 'rainbow people' as it erases lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, intersex, queer individual identities.

Perhaps there's something better we can all come up with?

TheOldie

TheOldie said on the 19th Sep, 2016

I just dont agree with the way it was done.

Was the Hotel contacted first to give them a chance to cancel ? before all this banning / giving bad reviews ?

Whats being done about other Religions that torture , rape , murder members of community ? where's the rejection of using Hotels/venues
that they hold their meetings in ?

MrAsh

MrAsh said on the 19th Sep, 2016

Hi Mr Ash -- I intentionally used 'rainbow people' because of Safe Schools use of the term. It's a specific reaction against the ACL's hate speech.

The same criticism is made against DSG as you've made against 'rainbow people' as it erases lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, intersex, queer individual identities.

Perhaps there's something better we can all come up with?

Diverse Sexualities and Genders (DSG) is a far more inclusive term since it covers the full spectrum of sexualities and genders. Sexual identity is an individuals personal choice and it doesn't necessarily reflect their sexual behaviour or sexual orientation. Human sexuality is far more complex and fluid than simplistic rigid sexual identities.

Shaun Caleb

Shaun Caleb said on the 19th Sep, 2016

Hi TheOldie -- protest isn't always going to be palatable for everyone. Look at what's going on in the USA with football players kneeling or sitting for the national anthem. There is a lot of difference in opinion as to whether their actions are right or not.

In case you're not aware, it was hotel staff who contacted Pauline Pantsdown to notify of the booking, because they were concerned about the event going ahead.

Although fringes of many large religions condone the behavior you mention, I'm not aware of any recent conferences where those groups held meeting specifically to preach violence. In fact, Australia has refused visas for people like pro-rape Daryush %u201CRoosh%u201D Valizadeh and anti-abortion preacher Troy Newman.

Shaun Caleb

Shaun Caleb said on the 19th Sep, 2016

MrAsh you and I are pretty much on the same wave length. Thanks for your thoughts--I will take them into consideration in my writing.

local_warming

local_warming said on the 19th Sep, 2016

On the issue of their Facebook page being deactivated, as if that's somehow a truth faux pas on their part, for not allowing the trolling to continue, I can't see how that is a supposed outrage? You had people who hadn't even stayed at the hotel (or certainly not recently) leaving fake, non-genuine reviews. Whatever spin you put on it, that's trolling. The Mecure hotel isn't a democratically elected government that requires being publicly held to account by means of transparency in every form, they are a private business. If you inundate any Facebook page with a concerted trolling campaign they would pretty quickly be deactivated. I can't believe folks are getting indignant about that portion of the timeline of events for this story.

TheOldie

TheOldie said on the 19th Sep, 2016

Hi TheOldie -- protest isn't always going to be palatable for everyone. Look at what's going on in the USA with football players kneeling or sitting for the national anthem. There is a lot of difference in opinion as to whether their actions are right or not.

In case you're not aware, it was hotel staff who contacted Pauline Pantsdown to notify of the booking, because they were concerned about the event going ahead.

Although fringes of many large religions condone the behavior you mention, I'm not aware of any recent conferences where those groups held meeting specifically to preach violence. In fact, Australia has refused visas for people like pro-rape Daryush %u201CRoosh%u201D Valizadeh and anti-abortion preacher Troy Newman.



Well at the very least I hope the Staff went to Management first about the issue.

As for that other Religion there have been plenty of opportunity in the past to make it known what we think of
their beliefs but I wouldnt like their reaction to it.

Facebook pages often get taken down when its hammered with stuff like this.

Anyhoo we will have to agree to disagree on this lots actions.

local_warming

local_warming said on the 19th Sep, 2016

"If only around 10% of our population are LGBTIQ-identifying, mustn’t our voices be tens of times louder to even be heard"

What's stopping the thankfully-shrinking Christian community from adopting the exact same ethos? Even after they have had their anti-gay stances collectively rejected by a 70% or more margin in a national plebiscite. The above quote statement appears to be urging the trashing of some of the most central tenets of democracy.

Shaun Caleb

Shaun Caleb said on the 19th Sep, 2016

Hi Local_Warming thanks for your comments. I think that deactivating their Facebook account is the least of the issues here--however for the sake of addressing your comment: from a corporate engagement perspective, it's a bad move for your PR. It signals to the public that you're on the back foot and unprepared to deal with a situation that was--but should not have been--unexpected.

As you point out, Mercure (Accor) is a private business and not a public entity, however they do have a diversity program and claim to support LGBTIQ people. This is sort of issue where the left hand may need to know what the right hand is doing.

For your second comment I would just remark that I don't think it's as simple as a numbers game when asking if Christians can begin to act as if a minority. You need to consider history, privilege, systemic and societal influence and power structures etc.

The ACL certainly represent a minority of Christians but I wouldn't go comparing them to the LGBTIQ community.

Carpe-Diem

Carpe-Diem said on the 19th Sep, 2016

Hi TheOldie -- protest isn't always going to be palatable for everyone. Look at what's going on in the USA with football players kneeling or sitting for the national anthem. There is a lot of difference in opinion as to whether their actions are right or not.

In case you're not aware, it was hotel staff who contacted Pauline Pantsdown to notify of the booking, because they were concerned about the event going ahead.

Although fringes of many large religions condone the behavior you mention, I'm not aware of any recent conferences where those groups held meeting specifically to preach violence. In fact, Australia has refused visas for people like pro-rape Daryush %u201CRoosh%u201D Valizadeh and anti-abortion preacher Troy Newman.

If the management of the Mercure are aware that it was their own staff who called Pantsdown and started this shit storm, I wouldn't want to be in their shoes. Or do you think that the Mercure will be all forgiving for being publicly humiliated like this?

I wouldn't mind betting that they'll start an internal investigation into how this all started in the first place. Companies tend to take a dim view of staff who cause them public ridicule & loss of business.

MrAsh

MrAsh said on the 19th Sep, 2016

If the management of the Mercure are aware that it was their own staff who called Pantsdown and started this shit storm, I wouldn't want to be in their shoes. Or do you think that the Mercure will be all forgiving for being publicly humiliated like this?

I wouldn't mind betting that they'll start an internal investigation into how this all started in the first place. Companies tend to take a dim view of staff who cause them public ridicule & loss of business.

Also what happens if an organisation like the ACL decide to take legal action against a company for denying them service due to their beliefs? I think there are quite a few legal and ethical questions around incidents like this which need to be considered from all perspectives.

As other people have mentioned, LGBTIQ activists and supporters have to be careful they don't create precedents which may impact them in the future.

Carpe-Diem

Carpe-Diem said on the 19th Sep, 2016

Also what happens if an organisation like the ACL decide to take legal action against the another company for denying them service due to their beliefs? I think there are quite a few legal and ethical questions around incidents like this which need to be considered from all perspectives.

As other people have mentioned, LGBTIQ activists and supporters have to be careful they don't create precedents which may impact them in the future.

So true Ash.

But that's the problem with any sort of radicals, LGBTI or otherwise. They don't consider how their actions might cause ramifications further down the track for themselves & the punters that they so-called represent. The only way to fight an opponent is with thought-out, intelligent & well-considered strategies ..... not like acting like petulant teenagers. :cool:

Shaun Caleb

Shaun Caleb said on the 19th Sep, 2016

It's great to remember that radicals and activists paved the way for our legality to exist and comment freely on internet articles.

Dissily Mordentroge

Dissily Mordentroge said on the 19th Sep, 2016



Yes but as a founding member of the Melbourne Uni Gay Liberation Front I recall we never, ever even thought of trying to ban the opposition from holding meetings or rallies. The central strategic point in all this is if we give groups such as ACL enough rope they will hang themselves. We also need to induce the moderate Christians into open criticism of the radical fundamentalists, a job they've by and large been unwilling to take on. If they don't soon take sides we'll need to drag them out into the open. How this can be done I'm not sure.

Carpe-Diem

Carpe-Diem said on the 20th Sep, 2016



I think you'll find that it was more political lobbying from many sources (including activists) that paved the way for our legality to exist and comment freely on internet articles.

Certainly radical action has its place (like it did in the case of groups like ACT-UP), but NOT when you're trying to get the wider Australian public on your side. To the great unwashed out there, it just looks like ratbaggery. And unless you're trying to get the majority off-side to start with, not a sensible course of action IMO.

TheOldie

TheOldie said on the 20th Sep, 2016

and over on the Hotel's Facebook page -


Pam Morris Im disgusted that you let these activist hold you to ransom. We have freedom of religion in this country and if christian group meetings are going to be cancelled then conservatives will have to band together to make sure no LGBTI events ever happen we must put an end to any freedoms they have, There are so many normal people in the gay community but the activist and the nutcase pauline pantsdown ruin it for the normal ones, the activists are the ones driving the hatred win the alphabet community. Shove their perverted safe schools and shove their marriage Im done with putting up with their violent aggressive behaviour, I hope you called police about their threats you better of, they need to be stopped. How dare you let them get their own way through their bullying tactics I wont ever recommend your hotels and I will NEVER ever stay in myself

MrAsh

MrAsh said on the 20th Sep, 2016

Yep the same activists are the ones who wrecked Safe Schools as well.

Gay rights activist Rob Mitchell — who was sacked from his Victorian government advisory role in 2014, arguing that he lost his job because he was too *publicly critical of the former Napthine government for its *inaction on tackling homophobia in schools — now believes Safe Schools has gone too far.

“They are completely out of control,’’ he told The Australian.

The Ballarat farmer was frustrated while on the government advisory committee with the slow rollout of Safe Schools and other anti-homophobia programs and was pushing for more resources and government initi*atives. He said he threatened to make a bumper sticker saying that his boss — then ministerial advisory committee chairwoman Ruth McNair — was undermining the health of young people.

“The tragedy in all this is: when I was agitating for money to be put in anti-homophobia programs, the Safe Schools *Coalition was what I would call a vanilla anti-homophobia program,’’ he said. “It seems to have been transformed into this queer theory sort of academic-driven lot of bullshit. As part of that process, they have lost their core constituency, which is parents of school kids. It has been completely hijacked, been derailed.”

http://www.theaustralian.com.au/national-affairs/state-politics/safe-schools-program-hijacked-says-gay-activist/news-story/596ffa70bf88afb8756e8dae3c894430

coast_boy_21

coast_boy_21 said on the 20th Sep, 2016

Yep the same activists are the ones who wrecked Safe Schools as well.



http://www.theaustralian.com.au/national-affairs/state-politics/safe-schools-program-hijacked-says-gay-activist/news-story/596ffa70bf88afb8756e8dae3c894430

The Australian newspaper once again.

MrAsh

MrAsh said on the 20th Sep, 2016



Have you read the article? There has been legitimate criticism of the Safe Schools program by people of diverse sexualities and genders which should be listened to.

Mama Catastrophe

Mama Catastrophe said on the 21st Sep, 2016

As a business owner all Mama has to say is that unless unless the LGBTIQ community are gonna all chip in pay Mamas bills – she will do business with whoever she chooses and if you don’t like you can fuck off. Getting absolutely jack of this stupid “if you’re not with us, you’re against us “mentality that dictate’s that just because we are LGBTIQ that we must put aside our own beliefs, opinions and in some case livelihood to support the masses and if we don’t – you will be crucified. Also how many of the Mercure staff that were so outraged by this booking were willing to quit their jobs if the booking went ahead? Mamas suspecting zero and until these fuckers are willing to lead by example and put their livelihood on the line for the sake of solidarity – don’t expect anyone else to.

Dissily Mordentroge

Dissily Mordentroge said on the 21st Sep, 2016

"If only around 10% of our population are LGBTIQ-identifying, mustn’t our voices be tens of times louder to even be heard"

What's stopping the thankfully-shrinking Christian community from adopting the exact same ethos? Even after they have had their anti-gay stances collectively rejected by a 70% or more margin in a national plebiscite. The above quote statement appears to be urging the trashing of some of the most central tenets of democracy.

Can we please get one thing clear, not all of the 'thankfully-shrinking Christian community' oppose queerness in it's many coloured forms. If we could somehow get these liberal Christians out of their hiding places to criticise the fundamentalists we'd have the most powerful ally imaginable in this debate. The question is why are they so silent? Maybe they aren't so moderate under their thin veneer of modern biblical studies?

TheOldie

TheOldie said on the 21st Sep, 2016





but I still would like to know did the Staff approach Management first about their concerns ?

as I posted yesterday lets just hope it doesnt become tit for tat

local_warming

local_warming said on the 22nd Sep, 2016



Says you.
There's not an ounce of good to come from organised religion, no matter how desperately and frantically you attempt to water their lies down. It's like saying you liked the nazis for their infrastructure projects, but they kinda lost you with their holocaust policies.
Why would you want life-long delusionals as allies?

MrAsh

MrAsh said on the 22nd Sep, 2016



I'd like to know why alleged LGBTI ally Christians like that Rob Bower of Gosford Anglican Church aren't speaking up against the ACL on this matter and are happy to be friends with the Muslim grand Mufti who's well known for his homophobia, yet don't publicly challenge him on his hate.

local_warming

local_warming said on the 22nd Sep, 2016




He might be pragmatic - after all, they share the same prophets

MrAsh

MrAsh said on the 22nd Sep, 2016



I think the Gosford Anglican Church are more narcissistic self promoters who go after easy targets to attack on their signs. This Rob Bower apparently would still refuse to marry same sex couples due to religious laws even if marriage equality was legalised, that's hypocrisy.

Dissily Mordentroge

Dissily Mordentroge said on the 22nd Sep, 2016

Says you.
There's not an ounce of good to come from organised religion, no matter how desperately and frantically you attempt to water their lies down. It's like saying you liked the nazis for their infrastructure projects, but they kinda lost you with their holocaust policies.
Why would you want life-long delusionals as allies?
Blinded by ideology again. If you'd been on AIDS care teams as I was working with upper middle class blue rinse church lady volunteers up to their elbows in terminal nursing and never taking advantage of their situation to evangelise you might realise not all so called Christians adhere to chapter and verse.
And yes, religion is mostly a corrosive force but often believers rise above that. I'm no believer myself but can I suggest, as I do too often around here, you read John Shelby Spongs' "The Sins of Scripture: Exposing the Bible's Texts of Hate to Reveal the God of Love."?
There's another elephant in the room here I want to shine a light on, (although I don't need to become involved here in a lengthy discussion of this side issue) the propensity of our species to submit to 'group think', the religious kind and the secular kind.
Take for instance the Nuremberg rallies, similar assemblies in Nth Korea even football team allegiances. The psychology operating in these situations is identical to those used by the religious to control the masses. The main difference from my perspective is the religious tend to accompany their brain washing with much better music.

Dissily Mordentroge

Dissily Mordentroge said on the 22nd Sep, 2016



They suffer similar delusions they share the same prophets but many so called holy books are such a dissorganised tangle of mistranslations and mistranscriptions layered over with absurd misreadings that nobody can be absolutely certain anything described as gospel truth in any way resembles it.

MrAsh

MrAsh said on the 22nd Sep, 2016



I'd say that generation of blue rinse church lady volunteers weren't doing good because of the word of the Gospels, they were more than likely doing good because they came from a generation where volunteering was done because it needed to be done for the good of society and not because they were trying to score points for heaven.

local_warming

local_warming said on the 22nd Sep, 2016



All of the writings in the bible have come either via a revelation - which means that some deluded fool(or just plain liar) has convinced themselves that a god (that another human has taught them about) , or a representative of god, has appeared before them to instruct them. Or via the teachings or actions of another liar, Jesus Christ, who claimed he was the son of god (:rolleyes: just a 2000 year old David Koresh, with on par mental stability). So not a single bar of what is written in the Bible is truth. It's all derived from delusion and lies stemming from those who wrote it.

Dissily Mordentroge

Dissily Mordentroge said on the 22nd Sep, 2016



My point was simply to draw attention to not everyone exposed the twisted theology of original sin and redemption through suffering was turned into a monster. As to where or why they behaved the way they did during that crisis I never asked any of them. Never look a gift horse in the mouth is the old saying.

Dissily Mordentroge

Dissily Mordentroge said on the 22nd Sep, 2016



You need to undertake a lot more reading in modern biblical studies, Are you brave enough to wallow in that swamp? Many who aren't are placed at the mercy of fundamentalist pushing their 'truth', especially it would seem members of parliament.

local_warming

local_warming said on the 22nd Sep, 2016



To be honest, I think I'd nearly prefer fundamentalist Christians - at least you know where you stand with them, and you can begrudgingly grant them that they have the courage of their convictions to back the religious teachings that they are supposedly applying to their lives. It's the shop-front cherry-picking Christians you have to watch out for. They want all the smugness of thinking themselves a Christian, but only providing that the teachings don't adversely affect their lifestyle or cause them to have to sacrifice something that's fun to do

MrAsh

MrAsh said on the 22nd Sep, 2016



I really think it also depends on what Christian denomination they're from and the culture of the congregation and parish they have been involved with as well. In my experience those from the churches like the Uniting Church or Gosford Anglican parish who have a 'progressive Christian' social justice ethos tend to have 'white Christian saviour' complex and are pretty arrogant.

As a religious person told me many years ago, anyone who says they're doing good because of their 'Christian' beliefs isn't a real Christian.

Dissily Mordentroge

Dissily Mordentroge said on the 22nd Sep, 2016


I have a personal aversion for either/ or arguments so bare with me while I rant a little.
The majority of Christians, both fundamentalist and more liberal, unthinkingly absorb just about everything dished up to them. Meanwhile in the background, theological academia continues with a seriously diverse and radical re-evaluation of scripture and it's interpretations. The full effects of these developments, apart from in a few corners such as liberal episcopalianism in the US and elsewhere, are yet to be felt. Most of you patient enough to read this far may ask why does any of this matter? It does because the evils the many branches of Christianity have inflicted on the queer world from the pulpit and though influence on government over the centuries could be totally undermined and then reversed by these new developments.

Let's leave the abstractions behind and step into the specifics read into so called holy books by groups such as ACL. Putting aside for now homosexual love as illustrated in some parts of the Old Testament without condemnation, such as 1st Samuel Ch:18.V:1 "..and the soul of Jonathan became bound to the soul of David, and Jonathan loved him as his own soul…" and after the death of the latter in 2nd Samuel. Ch:1.V:26.David cries "…wonderful was your love for me, more than love of woman!"

Today's fundamentalists need to be confronted head on with their wilful mistranslation of specific ancient Greek terms in the gospels. To quote from Jacques Berlinerblau in his 'The secular Bible: Why Nonbelievers Must Take Religion Seriously', "Familiarity with the languages of biblical antiquity is an exceedingly useful skill for those who want to undercut orthodox interpretations." Two New Testament passages for instance claimed to address homosexuality feature a rather strange Greek word, arsenokoites. One translation in the New Jerusalem Bible of 1st Timothy Ch:1.V:8-10. gives the translation of this term as 'Homosexual'. Other English bibles offer 'Sodomites', 'Homosexual perverts' or 'deviants'.Not convinced by this rendering , the New Testament scholar Dale Martin examined appearances of this word in contemporary Greek documents. The contexts in which it appears suggest to him sins of an economic nature are being discussed. He wonders if arsenokoitein "refers to some kind of economic exploitation, possibly by sexual means: rape or sex by economic coercion, probably by sexual means, prostitution, pimping, or something of the sort" Martin goes on to admit: "I am not claiming to know what arsenokoites meant, I am claiming that no one knows exactly what it meant."
We are left with the question though, what made so called Christians over the ages cling to 'sodomite','homosexual' etc as the real meaning of this term?
At this point in time we should be asking them.

Carpe-Diem

Carpe-Diem said on the 23rd Sep, 2016



Yes, who cares what their motives were.

Anybody who lived through that era can't forget that it wasn't just nursing or other hospital staff who discriminated against those with AIDS. Even some punters within the LGBTI community did their best in the discrimination department also. So if blue-rinsed old church-goers were happy to knuckle down into some of the most heart-breaking palliative care nursing known in this day & age - then who cares what their motives were. They were there and they helped.

Ohh, I know punters were scared back then and there was no known way of slowing the virus down so that it didn't compromise the immune system so much like today, but while some like you, DM volunteered, other LGBTI punters weren't so kind or humane to their fellow inflicted LGBTI brethren. :cool:

MrAsh

MrAsh said on the 23rd Sep, 2016

Yes, who cares what their motives were.

Anybody who lived through that era can't forget that it wasn't just nursing or other hospital staff who discriminated against those with AIDS. Even some punters within the LGBTI community did their best in the discrimination department also. So if blue-rinsed old church-goers were happy to knuckle down into some of the most heart-breaking palliative care nursing known in this day & age - then who cares what their motives were. They were there and they helped.

Ohh, I know punters were scared back then and there was no known way of slowing the virus down so that it didn't compromise the immune system so much like today, but while some like you, DM volunteered, other LGBTI punters weren't so kind or humane to their fellow inflicted LGBTI brethren. :cool:

Sadly there are still many ignorant LGBTI/DSG people who aren't kind or compassionate towards people living with HIV.

Back in the 90's my mum met a man in a hospice who was dying from AIDS and from that point she was very compassionate towards people living with HIV. I think with some people when they see another human suffering they naturally want to assist and show compassion regardless of their beliefs and they're the good people.

Yet I do believe people need to be pulled up on their motives and intentions if they're doing it for own ego in trying to be a martyr, saviour, bigger person or scoring points for heaven.

Dissily Mordentroge

Dissily Mordentroge said on the 23rd Sep, 2016

Sadly there are still many ignorant LGBTI/DSG people who aren't kind or compassionate towards people living with HIV.

Back in the 90's my mum met a man in a hospice who was dying from AIDS and from that point she was very compassionate towards people living with HIV. I think with some people when they see another human suffering they naturally want to assist and show compassion regardless of their beliefs and they're the good people.

Yet I do believe people need to be pulled up on their motives and intentions if they're doing it for own ego in trying to be a martyr, saviour, bigger person or scoring points for heaven.

How about those who weren't even 'doing it' yet happily inform the world on their CV's of their involvement in AIDS care when they had none? A prominent gay academic is still bragging of his involvement when he was only what can loosely be described as ' as social member' of the Victorian Aids Council assiduously avoiding getting his hands dirty. He wasn't the only one. A significant number of qualified social workers etc involved in the AIDS bureaucracy floated around on the administration level whilst running a mile at the mere thought of any direct involvement with those living with HIV. Needless to say they're also happy to add to their CV's their 'involvement'. If that comes across as sour grapes, it is.

sugarwalls

sugarwalls said on the 25th Sep, 2016

You can understand why so many people no longer want to align themselves with the GLTBIQ cause.

Recent behaviour from some members in our community is bigoted and aggressive. To maliciously leave bad feedback on a business that may employ a lot of GLBTIQ staff is totally irresponsible.

TheOldie

TheOldie said on the 1st Oct, 2016

well now that Miranda not Devine person has used the Mercure incident in one of her articles and the ACL are saying they
never thought they would have to have a meeting in secret.

backfiring much ?

sugarwalls

sugarwalls said on the 6th Dec, 2016

What is up with the superiority complex of many activists within the GLBTI community? Are all heterosexuals provided with a guide on how to surrender to the demands of left wing bigoted morons?

Mercure like many businesses have the right to run their business and not align themselves to the bigoted views of GLBTI extremists. Negative review spamming is just childish vandalism.

As a gay man, I actually hope the ACL grows larger and I support their right to have a view -- it is not "hate speech" to have a opinion that differs from the GLBTI activist tyrants. What is HATRED is how many GLBTI activists behave.

On a final note, GLBTI activists really should take a good hard look at themselves in a mirror and question their objectives. Do they support diversity? Do they support freedom of expression? Are they against suppression? Are they against censorship? As their actions in particular with the ACL and businesses that deal with them is a complete contradiction to their principles!

Dissily Mordentroge

Dissily Mordentroge said on the 6th Dec, 2016

What is up with the superiority complex of many activists within the GLBTI community? Are all heterosexuals provided with a guide on how to surrender to the demands of left wing bigoted morons?

Mercure like many businesses have the right to run their business and not align themselves to the bigoted views of GLBTI extremists. Negative review spamming is just childish vandalism.

As a gay man, I actually hope the ACL grows larger and I support their right to have a view -- it is not "hate speech" to have a opinion that differs from the GLBTI activist tyrants. What is HATRED is how many GLBTI activists behave.

On a final note, GLBTI activists really should take a good hard look at themselves in a mirror and question their objectives. Do they support diversity? Do they support freedom of expression? Are they against suppression? Are they against censorship? As their actions in particular with the ACL and businesses that deal with them is a complete contradiction to their principles!

Again your ideology blinds you. Where do you get the idea all paid staff in Aids Councils were queer?
Why support diverity of the kind that twists young minds into believing they're possessed by Satan if they're same sex attracted? The 'right to have a view' does not give any organisation the right to impose their twisted 'morality' through legislation with consequent criminal sanctions.

Profound

Profound said on the 6th Dec, 2016



The movement is compromised by far left communists and socialists where suppression, censorship and discreditation are par for the course.

One to two years ago there were more 'Socialist Alternative' and 'Anarchist' signage at SSM rallies than signs actually about SSM. They seem to have been told to be a bit more low key though.

These types of groups have gone this route before, adopting the beliefs of an existing more popular group to further their own means. That's what happened to the Greens.