Reviews

Mothers and Sons @ EnsembleTheatre

W. Todd Magowan26th Aug, 2015
www.samesame.com.au

Article Listings

Film: Iris

Film: Iris

By Matt Akersten 20th Aug, 2015

"I think some people like me because I’m different. I don’t think like everybody else."

Shake & Stir's 'Dracula' in Brisbane

Shake & Stir's 'Dracula' in Brisbane

By Chad St James 17th Aug, 2015

With its beautiful costumes, hypnotising set design, brilliant use of sound and lighting, non-stop action and believable cast, Shake & Stir’s Dracula will leave begging for a second viewing - one bite just simply isn’t enough!

Book: Inside Out, by Greg Fisher

Book: Inside Out, by Greg Fisher

By Matt Akersten 17th Aug, 2015

"I'll never forget the first time the cell door closed. The sound of the metal door crashed in my ears, and my reaction was immediate: the party is over, the music has stopped, and the mirror ball is no longer spinning. It was over."

The Bleeding Tree @ Griffin Theatre

The Bleeding Tree @ Griffin Theatre

By Matt Akersten 12th Aug, 2015

Starting with a violent death and descending from there, The Bleeding Tree is a tense and unsettling ride for the audience.

TV review: I Am Cait4

TV review: I Am Cait

By Jade Gulliver 6th Aug, 2015

"Jenner’s experiences serve as an education to the audience; Yes people are born transgender, no it can’t be cured."

Film: Nasty Baby

Film: Nasty Baby

By Glenn Dunks 30th Jul, 2015

Here's a wonderfully funny tale of modern gay life, that never lets its audience get too complacent by giving a third act plot twist that irrevocably changes the course for all involved.

Detroit @ Darlinghurst Theatre Company

Detroit @ Darlinghurst Theatre Company

By W. Todd Magowan 27th Jul, 2015

"This is such a great play. I'm trying to figure out when I can see it again."

On Netflix: Tig

On Netflix: Tig

By Jade Gulliver 24th Jul, 2015

Tig Notaro became internet famous when her stand up set about her cancer diagnosis, the death of her mother and her break up went viral.

Film: Mr. Holmes

Film: Mr. Holmes

By W. Todd Magowan 23rd Jul, 2015

"I thought this movie would be a bit predictable. I was wrong."

Film: Self/Less

Film: Self/Less

By Belinda Hazelton 23rd Jul, 2015

This entertaining and enjoyable sci- fi/thriller explores the concept that enough money and medical technology can prolong life indefinitely.

The Typists @ Exchange Hotel

The Typists @ Exchange Hotel

By Matt Akersten 13th Jul, 2015

"It's like a lesbian 'Waiting for Godot'! Well, not quite."

El Circo @ Slide

El Circo @ Slide

By W. Todd Magowan 13th Jul, 2015

Slide Bar on Oxford Street has handcrafted such a wonderful show. “Concept Dining” – as they call it, is a magnificent success.

Avenue Q @ Enmore Theatre

Avenue Q @ Enmore Theatre

By W. Todd Magowan 13th Jul, 2015

“There is life outside your apartment, but it can’t come to you”

Orange is the New Black Season 3

Orange is the New Black Season 3

By Jade Gulliver 4th Jul, 2015

"Most TV shows showcase an inoffensive femme type of lesbian. Here, there really is a character for everyone to relate to."

Book: From This Day Forward - Marriage Equality in Australia

Book: From This Day Forward - Marriage Equality in Australia

By Matt Akersten 24th Jun, 2015

Here's the definitive guide to why we need marriage equality in Australia, and how we go about getting it done at last.

Sven Swenson's Tiptoe @ Brisbane Powerhouse

Sven Swenson's Tiptoe @ Brisbane Powerhouse

By Tim Passmore 21st Jun, 2015

Sven Swenson's 'gothic thriller' is a period piece that pretty much ignores the outward primness of its era to explore the dark soul-spaces beneath.

Film: Holding the Man5

Film: Holding the Man

By Adrian Phoon 14th Jun, 2015

Holding the Man premiered last night at Sydney Film festival, bringing one of Australia's greatest love stories to the big screen at last.